top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Unicorn Project .

Happy first Monday of 2021 - Have you made your new year's goals list?

Ahh, Mondays… also, it's the first Monday of 2021.


I wanted to start the year off right on the blog. 2020 was a whirlwind and my plans of consistently writing on this blog got caught up in the fatigue caused by overconsumption of news, trying to write a 10,000-word report plus an extra 5,000 because our exams turned into ‘alternative assessments’ and truly, the list could go on and on.

Source: nytimes.com

Thankfully, I remained consistent on Instagram and our little community is growing! How exciting! I am so so grateful to each and every one of you!


Anywhoooooo

Did you know that over 90% of new year's resolutions fail within the first month? Ploop, just burst your bubble there, didn't I?

Source: medium.com

I'm sure you were expecting a post telling you all the reasons you should have a long list of resolutions completed this week or before the end of January. Listing your goals for the new year is an amazing idea - I do it and encouraged my friends to do it too! But please don’t limit your goal setting to the first week in January!

You can set goals at any point in the year.

If you choose to go about 2021 with the mentality that you can set your goals at any point, you won’t feel guilty for not carrying on with what you set out to do at the start of the year.


So, what should you do instead of a cumbersome list of new year’s resolutions (especially if this is the first time you’re thinking of making them)?

1. Find one thing to stop doing and one to change – think small but deep

The problem is that many people create is making a long, unrealistic list of things to accomplish. While it can be done, because of the unknown twists and turns life can throw us, seeing that you have a lot of unchecked things on your list can actually cause a mental blow.


Working towards changing one bad habit or setting up to smash one goal can be exactly what you need to take your life to another level.


2. Make goals in February or April or even October!

You should not have a specific time you set goals. While January gives an illusion of a fresh start, as cliché as it sounds, every day is a fresh start! Another reason you should make goals as and when you feel like it is because sometimes when life happens, you need to regroup and tweak some things a bit!


One of the most amazing things I accomplished in 2020 was a goal I set in August! I’m honestly so grateful that I didn’t wait until 2021 to start bullet journaling! I truly want to tell you how much this system has changed my life, but I will write about it later or maybe speak about it in one of my Glitter Talks episodes.


3. Learn to give yourself some grace

2020 was the most eye-opening year of my life. If you know me, you know how goal-oriented and set in my ways I can be. My greatest lesson from 2020 was to give myself grace. Simply put it, CUT YOURSELF SOME SLACK!


If you’re reading this post, you’ve accomplished something millions of people did not get and that is seeing the start of 2021. As you go about 2021 with all your amazing plans, please don’t forget to make the most of it. For some of us, it actually includes new year’s resolutions and quarterly goals. For the rest of us, 2021 will be about surviving and rebuilding ourselves after the year that was 2020.


No matter what you do this year, remember to be proud of how far you’ve come and make notes of your highpoints! As my mother always says, “write it down”.


Before I end this post, I want to set you a little ‘challenge’. It’s nothing hard, I promise. After going through 2020, I was so glad that I kept this one thing going throughout 2020 when most of my goals went out the window.


In 2021, keep a gratitude jar:

All the best in 2021 my lovely unicorns! Make it a good one FOR YOU!


Sending love and glitter from a very cold (currently stuck in Tier 4) Surrey UK.

One of my favourite selfies from Christmas :)

bottom of page