top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Unicorn Project .

Never neglect your health in your 20s - 3 Things You Can Start Doing Today by Xenia Douglas

“ You’re not going to be young forever.” - Unknown

Source: Unsplash: (@zachlucero)

Making your health a priority in your twenties seems so…far-fetched.


Time always seems limitless when you’re young and agile, because you’re consumed with the raging desire to succeed.


Our generation’s dedication to “focusing on the grind” and “getting this bread” has led to the development of unhealthy eating habits. We’ve all been guilty of indulging in foods with ingredients we can’t pronounce - myself included. It’s okay to prioritize focusing on the grind.


Neglecting our temples has repercussions, and the esteemed life we’re working so hard to achieve can be gone in an instant if our health is not made a priority.

In light of this observation, I decided today to share 3 simple healthy habits I’ve adopted myself, and that you can adopt to ensure a healthy, holistic quality of life in years to come.


1. Learn to cook your own meals

If you’re over 21 and all your daily meals come out of a brown paper bag - maybe it’s time for an intervention. Consider learning to create your very own home cooked meals, using fresh produce, local seasonings and other healthy ingredients. Not only does cooking your own food save you money, but eating nutrient dense meals come with many health benefits.

And if you’ve never cooked a day in your life? Don’t worry. YouTube and Google will become your best friends. Take a few days a week to get your inner Gordon Ramsey on and try a couple recipes!


2. Form a Healthy Relationship with Alcohol

I think we all know by now that the frequent consumption of alcohol can lead to all sorts of long-term health issues. Yes, it’s fun to indulge in the occasional drink, but always make sure your relationship with alcohol is a healthy one. One should not feel incapable of going a day without it. If you’re going to have a drink, drink in moderation. Always ensure that YOU are in constant control of what you can handle.


3. Focus less on diet, and more on lifestyle

If you want to attain long term progress in terms of your healthy habits, I want to encourage you to focus less on diet, and more on developing a healthy lifestyle. As someone who’s tried almost every diet under the sun, my decision to adopt a healthy lifestyle, (i.e. plant based living), was living proof that dieting is not as rewarding as it may seem.


Dieting has always been temporary. Individuals “push through till the end” so that they can return to eating whatever they want.


However a lifestyle is permanent. You make a unanimous decision to find healthier alternatives and adapt your daily behaviors to match your newfound way of life.

I make a conscious decision every day to incorporate more fruits and vegetables into my everyday meals, and limit my consumption of meat and dairy products. I purposefully shifted my daily habits to suit my lifestyle change, and you can too.


So if you’re trying to form healthier eating habits, let those habits become a part of your lifestyle. It’s the only way you’re guaranteed to achieve results.


As someone who has been on both ends of the spectrum – a persistent go-getter who craves success and an individual whose health was compromised at an early age, I realized we all tend to take shortcuts when it comes to taking care of ourselves.


Why not take this year to cultivate habits that lead to a life free from aches and pains, so that you may enjoy the fruits of your labour in years to come? Learn to create your own meals, restore that balance with your drinking habits, and begin eating for wellness. By adjusting your eating habits and focusing on your health in your twenties, your body will thank you for it. It’s never too late to make your temple a priority. Do yourself a favour. Start now!


When Faustina asked me to be a guest blogger for The Unicorn Project, my immediate reaction was duh. Of course, I’ll give my two cents - It’s Faustina after all. She’s a source of consistent motivation for me, so I really hope today that I may motivate you as well!


I am Xenia Douglas, a 24-year-old graduate of the St George’s University, recently achieving a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management. I consider myself to be a ‘Jill of many trades’, one of which being my passion for all things Health and Wellness. I am currently pursuing my certification in Human Nutrition as I continue my journey to becoming a Holistic Nutritionist by 2022. As a woman who privately embarked on her wellness journey almost two years ago, I hope to shed some light on a topic that is not frequently discussed among young adults in the Caribbean – the importance of making your overall health your priority in your twenties.


Faustina here: I just wanted to say a massive thank you to Xenia for sharing a bit of her passion with The Unicorn Project. I've known Xenia since 2008 (she was the first friend I made at secondary school!) and it's been so inspiring seeing her find her authentic voice and her niche! You can follow Xenia on Instagram @thrivealivee to get more tips on holistic wellbeing and ALOT of content on plant-based living!

bottom of page